Letting Go Of What No Longer Serves You

I haven’t bothered to write anything in this blog recently since real life has been taking up most of my time and I’ve also been busy with some summer classes that are currently in progress. I still haven’t forgotten my practice though or rather what’s left of it.

Returning to a spiritual practice has been the last thing on my mind since I’ve been doing some soul-searching for the past year since I graduated college. I feel that as a part of my growing identity, college has been a major impact in my life moreso than I’d like to think. The people I’ve met, the experiences I’ve encountered, and the inner moments that have been on the level of life-changing.

So, I’ve thought about lately what I could write about and it’s going to be something simple. It’s learning to let go of what no longer serves you. 

I started out with the little things. Throwing away pieces of paper in my journal that no longer served any sort of emotional construct or meaning. Clearing out my digital life (social media accounts, desktop files, computer files), old notebooks, old documents.

And then emotionally I had to deal with letting people go and any personal attachments associated with them. Of course you never truly forget the ones who have hurt you but with time and distance it can be cathartic and easier to work with.

When you start out letting go of the small things, it sort of becomes easier to let go of the bigger things that have been eating up your time mentally, emotionally, and physically.

Spiritually clearing out is another thing as well. You learn to prioritize what is important and what needs to be dealt with so you can breathe easier in your life.

What are some things you no longer need in your life?

Leave a Reply

